But oh, those summer *whites*

We all know the saying: no white after labor day. That means from today, you have 3 1/2 weeks to wear all of the white your little heart desires. Now, when it comes to fashion, it’s definitely good to take risks and bend the rules here and there. So you want to wear your white jeans in October? I say go for it. You have a beautiful white ballerina skirt that you want to wear in April? Do it. But when it comes to wearing a head-to-toe all white outfit, it might be best for you to save that for summer. So in honor of there being a limited time to rock it, here’s how I styled my summer whites.

IMG_2852

I think that since you have a limited time to wear all white, it’s fun to play around with different outfit combinations. One idea is to wear white denim with a white top (maybe even off-the-shoulder this season). It’s also fun to pair colored or metallic shoes with all white to add a little bit of flare. But sometimes, you’re required to wear all-white attire for a special meeting or function, which is where I got the inspiration for this outfit. Just make sure that you don’t wear anything like this to a wedding!

Dress:

 

This white eyelet dress is from J. Crew. I love how it has a simple silhouette and then the added detail of the flutter sleeves. It’s a perfect light-weight dress for the summer, and it is great for all-day wear. I originally saw this dress in a brick red color as I was out shopping for a white dress; as soon as I saw they had it in white as well, I was sold. This dress is perfect for many different occasions. I first wore it to a business type meeting at my sorority’s national convention earlier this summer. While it is a great piece to wear in a business environment, it is also casual enough to wear out to a lunch and shopping date on any day of the week. Although not pictured, it also has a cute keyhole back with a gold button clasp at the top.

Shoes:

Like I noted above, I think its fun to pair an all-white ensemble with fun shoes. For my convention meeting, we were required to wear white or nude shoes, so I wore a pair of white, leather, peep-toe heels. But for fun, I paired this outfit with a pair of silver wedges. These wedges are Calvin Klein, and were actually the first pair of wedges I ever owned. They have stayed in really good condition over the years, I do have to say. I like how these wedges have the rope lining on the wedge, and I like the shape and design of the straps on top. The color is also great because the silver can dress a simple outfit up, or just compliment an already dressy outfit.

Necklace:

IMG_2876

I’ll be the first to admit it: this necklace looks slightly off-white compared to the dress. I know. But the thing with wearing all white, is that the whites might not always match. I’m not saying to pair cream with white, but I am saying that some whites are brighter than others, and that’s okay. This petal statement necklace is from J. Crew, and is one of my favorite statement necklaces that I own. I always get compliments on it, and I love how sparkly it is in person. It’s also great that it is white in color, because that allows me to wear it with a lot of different outfits.

As the summer wraps up and autumn begins, it’s time to start transitioning our wardrobes to warmer fabrics and hues. But before we move on from summer completely, wear the white in your wardrobe while you have the chance. And if you’re ever looking for photo ops, try taking pictures in front of a colorful or patterned wall like this one outside of a store called I Like You in Minneapolis. Just remember that summer isn’t over until it gets cooler, and your white clothes can be worn as long as you want.

IMG_2905

XOXO, Chloe

Stylish and Starving at Twenty Something

Leave a comment