Sayonara Summer

“And summer’s lease hath all too short a date”. Same Shakespeare, same. Like William, I believe that summer flies by too fast. The break from school goes by in the blink of an eye. So too, does the warm weather that allows for carefree fashion. While wearing a dress is almost always easier than bottoms and a top (I mean, it is just one piece of clothing after all), it is especially easy to slip a sundress on and call it a day during the summer. You look like you tried without putting much effort into it at all. And don’t get me started on how much easier it is to go out in the summer (bars + parkas = no bueno). So in an ode to summer, here’s one last summer style that will soon have to be put to rest until next year.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Nothing says summer more than bright colors and floral prints. With this outfit, you have the perfect mixture of both. I fell in love with the shoes last spring, because I love pink and I love Sam Edelman, so it was a bit of a no brainer. They are the perfect pop of color that surprisingly go with a lot of different things. They look great paired with blues, white, blacks, and obviously items with the same exact color in them. I actually bought the dress separately from the shoes simply because I thought it was adorable and also very ~fun and flirty~. It wasn’t until I got home and was hanging the dress in my closet that I realized the shoes matched perfectly. So obviously, I felt like a very accomplished and put together shopper.

Dress:

This is certainly not your everyday dress. But let me tell you, it is so cute for that special summer occasion where you can wear something that is a little scandy but still very cute. The dress is Free People, and the vibrant colors are what originally caught my eye. Upon trying it on, I was a little unsure of the deep cut in front, but I have other Free People dresses that are cut similarly and I love them, so I figured, why not? It might not be the perfect dress for women who are more blessed in the chest area, but for those of us on the IBTC, it works pretty nicely! I also love the open back with the different straps. You can’t quite tell from the picture, but the thicker straps are made of a thicker mesh-like material that is a super cute detail with the patten of the dress. All in all, this dress is great for a summer night on the town!

Shoes:

If I had to pick the pair of shoes in my closet that was my “spirit shoe”, if you will, it would 100% be these ones. These Sam Edelman beauties are simply my favorite. The color is everything, and they are so comfortable (chunky heels are a gift from the gods). I bought these for an event last spring as a pop of color to go with a black dress, and I have been amazed at how versatile they are! It made me so happy when I realized that they matched this dress perfectly! It’s somewhat of a unique color, and you can only wear so much of it at once; so the side panels of the dress and the shoes go perfectly with one another without being overbearing.

Accessories:

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I bought these Kendra Scott earrings at the same time as I got the heels, and they are such a beautiful color. These are the Alex earrings in magenta. I love the classic Kendra Danielle silhouette, but these are a fun little twist on the classic. The color is so vibrant, but can really go with almost anything as a fun little pop of color that is more lowkey than the heels. I also love that they are gold, as gold is definitely my go-to metal, so they match with a lot of my cuffs and bangles.

It feels so wrong saying bye to summer when it is still nearly 80 degrees everyday in the Midwest, but I know that fall weather is just around the corner. While I might miss wearing fun, bright dresses like this one, sweater weather season is always an exciting time of year. Plus, knowing that you have a dress this fun hanging in your closet is always a good thing to look forward to for spring break and summer! So even as we tuck away our cutest sundresses and trade them in for sweaters, let’s give summer one last thank you for being a beautiful time of year with even more beautiful clothing options. Thanks for the memories summer 2017, you will be dearly missed!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

XOXO, Chloe

Stylish and Starving at Twenty Something

Leave a comment