FLWR PWR: Denim Edition

Embroidered denim. Not a new concept, but certainly one that hasn’t been around for a hot minute. Until these past couple of seasons. And let me tell you: I love it. Last spring I was doing the usual online shopping, when I stumbled upon a couple of styles of embroidered jeans on Nordstrom’s website. I was immediately excited that this was gonna be the next big thing. I love denim. Like I don’t know how many pairs of jeans is acceptable to own, but I might own more than that. But at some point, they begin to look somewhat alike. You’ve got your dark washes and light washes, high waisted and low rise, skinny and boyfriend fit. But embroidery is something that makes jeans stand out; it definitely adds a a little something-something that makes them unique and exciting.

Looking at the various styles, I immediately knew I wanted a pair, but I knew that the likelihood of wearing ones with bright colors and bold designs was a little beyond me. I very much wanted to get behind the trend, but in a way that I knew I could pull off. I knew that I would be able to style pairs with more muted embroidery because you can match more with them (gotta start off lowkey, you know?). And realistically, any embroidery at all is a bigger risk than no embroidery. So, as I’ve accumulated pairs of embroidered jeans, I’ve opted for styles that still have all over embroidery, but in more solid colors and simpler patterns than other styles out there. And you know what? I love them just as much as I expected.

Because embroidered jeans are still a clear and exciting trend coming in to Spring ’18, I thought that I would share with you two of the pairs that I own, as well as links to new pairs you can invest in yourself. Take it from me, embroidered jeans come in all washes, making them perfect for year-round wear. I have had the most success finding pairs at Nordstrom and Anthropologie, and those are probably the places I will continue to pick up pairs in the future, just because I really enjoy the quality of their denim. But, nonetheless, I’ve included styles that fall under different price ranges, because in the end, we should all invest in a pair (or three if you’re like me).

First up, we have my first pair, which I received as a birthday gift (thanks Mom), but are from Nordstrom and they are actually Madewell denim.

These light wash jeans are better suited for spring and summer in my opinion, so I usually let them hibernate during the winter months. They don’t have much stretch to them, so that makes them a little bit different than many of my other pairs from Madewell, but they are not uncomfortable by any means. I like how the embroidery makes them look kind of vintage with the light wash, and while they are easy to style with a plain white t-shirt like I have, they really can go with a lot of different colors.

I purchased my second pair over the summer from Anthropologie, and let me tell you: these are the softest pair of jeans that I own.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 11.55.20 AM

I love the unfinished hem, and they have a bit of a boyfriend fit to them. I actually really enjoy the navy embroidery because it makes them match with more, and the embroidery on these is kept solely on the front. Because they have a darker wash and a darker embroidery, I do wear these year-round, because I feel like they can still be pulled off in the winter months.

While both of these styles are no longer available for purchase, I have rounded up a couple of different styles that you can invest in for this coming season. In addition to the pictures, I’ll include a link to the website where you can purchase them, just in case this post has inspired you to make an impulse purchase! (Ps the first two pairs are really calling to me, so I might make an impulse purchase of my own if we’re being honest)

Anthropologie: $158:

Pilcro Embroidered High-Rise Cropped Bootcut Jeans

Anthropologie: $158

Pilcro Embroidered Mid-Rise Slim Straight Jeans

Nordstrom/Topshop: $110

Jamie Embroidered Ankle Skinny Jeans

Express: $88

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 12.05.04 PM

High Waisted Floral Embroidery Girlfriend Jeans

Asos: $48

New Look Tall Embroidered Skinny Jean

Old Navy: $35

Mid-Rise Floral-Embroidered Rockstar Jeans for Women

Forever 21: $32.90

Distressed Embroidered Straight-Leg Jeans

And lastly, I just wanted to show you these adorable little girl’s embroidered jeans that are even offered in Toddler sizes (so cute!!!!!!)

Nordstrom/Peek: $58

Taylor Embroidered Skinny Jeans

As spring begins to spring, for lack of a better term, you will definitely begin to break out new denim that can be styled with bright colors, and what better way to express yourself a little more than with fun, embroidered jeans. Looking further ahead, embroidered denim shorts are also sure to be in style this season, so you can always invest in those as well for when the weather really heats up! I hope that I’ve inspired you to try one of my personal favorite trends, and I encourage you to embrace the inner flower power that is the theme of many embroidered styles!

XOXO, Chloe

Stylish and Starving at Twenty Something

 

Leave a comment