And it was all yellow

IMG_2746

While most light and bright colors remind me of summer, I think yellow is the one color that says summer like nothing else. It’s the color of the sun, it’s the color of lemonade, and it’s the color of sunflowers, which just so happen to be in bloom right now. This past Saturday, I spent the morning at the Mill City Farmer’s Market in downtown Minneapolis. While I was there, I picked up a beautiful bouquet of sunflowers. I also bought some delicious focaccia bread that had fresh grape tomatoes and mozzarella cheese baked into it (seriously, might be the best bread ever). Spending weekend mornings at farmer’s markets is a family tradition with my parents, and we have been going to different ones since I was little. Shopping at farmer’s markets is a great way to get fresh produce and flowers in the summer, and most also have lots of yummy treats at them as well. And since they aren’t open all year round, you better take advantage of summer farmer’s markets while you can!

IMG_2713
Yellow also happens to be the color of an adorable jumpsuit that I recently bought and ended up wearing to the farmer’s market. I loved how the yellow sunflowers looked with the jumpsuit, so of course I had to utilize them in my pictures. Keep on reading for further outfit details.

Jumpsuit:

This yellow floral jumpsuit is from Primp. I’ve got to admit, I was really hesitant to try it on at first. I thought that color was cute, and I liked the idea of a wide leg pant, but I just wasn’t sure how it would look on or if I could pull it off. Once I tried it on, I ended up absolutely loving it. I like how the silhouette has a vintage feel to it. I also really like the shape of the back, I think it makes it really unique. And then of course there’s the wide leg aspect of the pants, which I really really enjoy. Jumpsuits are definitely in right now, as is a wide leg/flare bottom, so this will be the perfect outfit to wear the rest of the summer and into the fall. In one way, a jumpsuit is kind of like a long romper, so if you haven’t tried one yet but love rompers, I would highly recommend trying some on.

Shoes:

These suede, nude, two-strap sandals are Steve Madden. The style name is Darcie, and I recently bought them at Macy’s. I love how they have a low chunky heel, this makes them perfect for a casual outfit or for going out in the evening. They also have fringe tassels on the back zipper, which I think is adorable. This style of sandal is really in right now, and the suede is a great way to be able to transition them from summer to fall. The color is also neutral, which means that they can go with almost anything.

Accessories:

This simple gold circle necklace is from Primp. I just bought it, but it has quickly become one of those staples that you can wear with anything and everything because of how simple it is. I also paired the outfit with two gold cuffs, both from J. Crew. One is a solid gold, while the other is more of a brushed gold with 3D white circles lining the top. And of course the ultimate accessory was my bouquet of beautiful sunflowers that I bought at the farmer’s market. I kept my accessories simple in order to draw attention to the jumpsuit itself because it has a cute pattern and a unique shape.

This outfit was great for the farmer’s market because the color was summery, the loose pants were nice and breezy, and the low heels were easy and comfortable to walk around the market in. Before summer ends, you should definitely make it a priority to head out to your local farmer’s market. Not only will you have fun shopping for seasonal fresh foods, but you can make a little picnic out of your finds afterwards. It’s a great place to have on your summer bucket list, and now that it’s August, it’s time to start checking off those boxes. And while buying sunflowers while you’re there is completely up to you, I would recommend getting them while you can!

IMG_2783

Photo idea creds to my best friend, Brooke

XOXO, Chloe

Stylish and Starving at Twenty Something

Leave a comment