These boots were made for walking

Oh, October. You bring such lovely colored leaves, apple orchards trips, sweater weather, and of course, Pumpkin Spice Lattes; you also bring back the desire to wear taller boots. While riding boots are always going to be a classic, I’ve fallen in love with a new boot trend this season; over-the-knee boots. This style of boot really took off near the end of the summer as we all began to shop for our fall wardrobes. They can be seen in nearly every style magazine and are being donned by the hottest celebs in a wide variety of colors. While there are some leather styles, suede has definitely been the most popular material for this style of boots to be made out of; this softer material makes them a little slouchier, compared to a stiff leather, which definitely increases their versatility and comfort. What I really love about over-the-knee boots is the endless possibilities for outfits. While they can be worn over jeans and leggings, or paired with an oversized sweater, I definitely know my favorite way to style them is with dresses; especially off-the-shoulder ones (surprise, surprise!).

img_2965

 

What I love about pairing an off-the-shoulder dress with over-the-knee boots is that it allows you to wear a more summery style dress in the fall. These suede boots definitely help keep you warm, so its almost the same as wearing tights under a dress. I love how the light tan color of the boots compliments the colors of the flowers on the dress. I also become incredibly obsessed with burgundy once fall comes, so I am in love with the colors and patterns of this dress. I also really enjoy how the sleeves are little mock sleeves that just drape over the arm. Overall, I really loved the contrast of showing a little more skin on top and then less on the bottom, as the beginning of fall is the perfect time to do this. Keep reading for outfit details!

Dress:

img_2996

This beautiful off-the-shoulder burgundy dress covered with bouquet designs is from Primp. Not only do I love the colors and the fabric of the dress, but I love the mock sleeves and, of course, the neck line. If I’m being honest, I was really unsure about how the off-the-shoulder trend would transfer in to fall, but I am so glad that it has. Keeping the neckline but adding sleeves is genius, and allows the style to be worn year-round. The colors of the dress are always what I envision when I think of fall, so I love how they have incorporated all of the classic colors into one dress by making the bouquets colorful. I can promise you that I will be wearing this dress all season long, even if it means I get a little chilly in the process (totally worth the sacrifice).

Boots:

These boots make me feel like a Kardashian in the best way possible. Khloe has a pair that are almost identical in color, and you know that you’re doing trends the right way if celebs are spotted in similar items. These boots are also from Primp, and I have been waiting all fall the finally wear them. While over-the-knee boots come in a variety of heel heights, I love how these have a little bit of a higher heel (2 inches), and that the heel is a darker color; this contrast between the brown of the heel and the tan of the boot was something that really drew me in to these boots. I also love how they lace up in the back; I did learn the hard way though that these laces are not just decorative, but they help keep the boots around the thighs. Not only are these boots so cute, but they also really helped keep my legs warm on a rather crisp fall day, so I know that they are the perfect shoe to wear all season long.

In order to draw the focus towards the boots and dress, I chose not to wear any accessories besides simple stud earrings in a tan color that matches the color of the boots. I did emphasize the color of the dress by wearing a burgundy lip. I wore Dark Side by MAC, a color that my mom also loves. One of my favorite quotes is “There is always lipstick”; I truly feel that I relate to this on a spiritual level seeing as lipstick will always be my favorite way to dress up and make an outfit more fun.

While this might not be an outfit that one could wear all autumn, it is definitely wearable in October. The changing colors of the leaves are reflected in the fall tones of the dress, and suede boots are super ideal when there is no snow on the ground yet because you don’t even need to waterproof them. If it’s a little chilly for completely baring your shoulders, you can always slip a jacket over the dress to go out an embrace the crisp fall air. I highly encourage you to do all of the cliche fall things while you can; you will never regret going to an apple orchard, but you might regret staying inside while the weather is nice once the ground is covered with a foot of snow. So go get yourself a pair of-over-the-knee boots and jump in some leaves. because fall is here people!

img_3004

XOXO, Chloe

Stylish and Starving at Twenty Something

 

 

One thought on “These boots were made for walking

Leave a comment