Shades of blue

Let’s be honest; I’ve been anything but shy when admitting that I have an obsession with the current off-the-shoulder trend. And while it may be a trend that will have come and gone by next summer, I’m embracing it for now, and I am considering it my summer staple. The trend is great because it is so versatile; you can find off-the-shoulder items that are perfect for day, night, or even both. While all of the items have a commonality in where they sit up top, they come in a variety of styles, fabrics, patterns, and lengths. Some items are lacy and classy, while others are more boho-chic. No matter what, it’s a great trend to try, and hopefully this post will convince you to go off-the-shoulder if you haven’t already.

IMG_2380

As I mentioned, I think the off-the-shoulder trend is great because there is such a wide range in how it can be styled. The outfit that I wore is something that has a sort-of boho feel to it because of the embroidered details, and it is the perfect outfit to bring from day to night, especially on a hot July day. The shades of blue are also great because they allow for a lot of different accessorizing opportunities. While I accessorized with silver, I hope to play around with different colors in the future. Keep reading for further details!

Dress:

This blue off-the-shoulder dress is from Primp, and is made by the brand Honey Punch. The reason I fell in love with this dress was not actually the fact that it was off-the-shoulder, but because of the embroidered detailing on it. I love how they have contrasted the color of the dress with two different stitching colors that are both blue hues. I also love the different geometric designs and the vertical stripes that are created with the embroidery. I love the shape of the dress, and how it has a layer of fabric draping all the way around the chest instead of just the front. The thin elastic across the top is also great because it keeps the dress up without distracting from the patterns of the dress. It’s also a really lightweight material, which is great for when the weather heats up. Blue has been my go-to color for dresses this summer, especially in lighter hues like this (it helps bring out my eyes), so I’m lucky that I have been able to find so many adorable blue dresses at Primp.

Shoes:

Another summer staple, I paired this dress with my silver Jack Rogers (fun fact, these were my very first pair of Jacks, thanks Santa). I love how they are not just plain silver, but have some texture to them. These sandals go great with tons of different outfits, and the metallic color is what really helps bring this outfit from day to night with little to no changes. I think that wearing a non-blue shoe helps add more color to the outfit; you could also go with a neutral color like a nude, but I personally think that the silver adds more pizzaz.

Accessories:

IMG_2438

For accessories, I kept it very, very simple. I toyed around with the idea of mixing metals, but once I decided on a silver shoe I thought it best to stick with silver. So as not to distract from the detailing on the dress, I wore a simple silver bracelet from Aerie. This bracelet is probably 8 years old if not older, but I still wear it when I’m in need of a simple silver bracelet because that’s exactly what it is. Stacking bracelets of mixed metals or wearing a simple chain necklace would be a great way to further accessorize this dress.

IMG_2365

No matter the hue, shades of blue are definitely both hot and cool this summer, so adding them to your wardrobe is a must. Also, keep your eyes open for new off-the-shoulder options to try when you are out shopping, I promise that you won’t be disappointed. And if all this talk of blue made you think of a certain song, feel free to click here: da ba dee da ba daa.

XOXO, Chloe

Stylish and Starving at Twenty Something

One thought on “Shades of blue

Leave a comment