Donut you know I love you: pt. 2

Summer break has officially begun, which means that I am back home in the Twin Cities for the summer; this means regaining my accent, shopping local, and of course eating at all of my favorite Minnesotan restaurants. To start off, I am introducing the second part of my series “Donut you know I love you”, which features different donut shops (in case you forgot, I’m on the search for the world’s greatest donut). As soon as I got home, I of course had to hit up my favorite place for donuts in the Twin Cities, Glam Doll Donuts.

The Shop:

It’s impossible to go to Glam Doll without noticing the adorable vintage outside. The theme is carried through on the inside as well, with vintage furniture, an old photo booth, and in the names of the donuts themselves. Besides the fact that their donuts taste great, I think a big part of why I love Glam Doll so much is because of its unique and ultra-cute theme.

img_2494-1

The Menu:

While their menu does change every so often, Glam Doll does have certain donut types that they serve on the daily. As you’ll see from the picture below, they all have very fun names that have a pin-up flair to them. The donuts range in flavor, from fruity sweet to salty bacon, and they also feature a variety of cake, glazed, and filled donuts. You’ll also notice a really good price point, where the donuts range from $1.50-$3.00; trust me, you’ll want to buy at least two for yourself, and maybe a cafe drink as well like a mocha or hot chocolate.

The Case:

Despite having a posted menu, Glam Doll also gives donut descriptions for each donut in their case. In addition to all of the normal donuts they serve, Glam Doll has a separate case for vegan versions of their most popular donuts; while the selection is a little smaller, it’s really great that they offer vegan options, because most donut shops don’t.

Chloe’s Picks:

Having been to Glam Doll a couple of times, I have quickly found my favorite donuts. Although I’m sure they are great, I avoid the donuts with bacon and Surly beer since I don’t eat bacon, so I usually go for the chocolatey and sweet options. My two personal favorite donuts are pictured below, and they are the Calendar Girl and the Cosmopolitan Girl. Now, if I said I didn’t order the Cosmo Girl for the first time simply because of the name, I might be lying. But with a peanut butter and chocolate combo, you really can’t go wrong. The same goes for the chocolate and caramel combination that is the Calendar Girl. I also love Glam Doll’s hot chocolate, so I tend to pick up a cup of that when I am there as well, unless of course it’s during the summer.

 

Glam Doll Donuts is currently located in Minneapolis off of Nicollet Ave S, but just recently there has been news that they plan on opening a second location in Northeast Minneapolis. No matter which location you go to, I highly recommend trying out Glam Doll the next time you are looking for breakfast, brunch, or even a late night snack (they stay open until 1 am on Fridays and Saturdays). Between the pin-up vintage theme, great prices, and delicious donuts, you really can’t go wrong with Glam Doll.

XOXO, Chloe

Stylish and Starving at Twenty Something

Leave a comment