We are the wild youth

My first fashion post, it’s so exciting! On March 12th I got to see Daughter perform at First Avenue in downtown Minneapolis. It is always fun hearing your favorite songs performed live; my personal favorite Daughter song is “Youth”. If you haven’t heard it, check it out: Youth — Daughter. It was an amazing concert, the band was definitely as good live as they are on record, if not better.

image

Given the band and the venue, I decided to dress more on the edgy side. The weather was beautiful, especially for March in Minnesota, so I fully embraced the opportunity to not wear a coat. Here’s a recap of my outfit for the night:

IMG_1805

I opted to wear a tank-style black dress with a red and gray checkered flannel around my waist for when it got chillier in the evening. Wearing the flannel was great because I was able to wear it over the dress while my friends and I walked around downtown before the concert, but I could tie it around my waist once we got inside the venue (no need to pay for coat check, yay). I also decided to wear black booties with gray, knit, knee-high stockings for a little extra warmth. The gray and black combo on bottom tied the outfit together since the dress was black but the flannel was red and gray. For accessories, I wore gold bangles to match the hardware of the zippers on my booties. I topped the outfit off with a red lip and smokey eye, and the outfit was complete. Continue reading for outfit details.
IMG_1818          IMG_1819

I opted to wear a casual little black dress with oversized pockets. The dress is perfect for concerts because it is lightweight and comfortable, as well as casual but not too casual. The keyhopening in the back adds just the right amount of detail so that it isn’t too plain. This cotton LBD is from Brandy Melville.

IMG_1808          IMG_1829

Over the black dress, I wore a red and gray checkered flannel. As I mentioned, wearing a flannel was the perfect way to change my outfit as the weather changed through the course of the day. This flannel is from J Crew.

IMG_1802

Given the simplicity of the top of the black dress, I made sure that my outfit was more interesting on the bottom half to even out my look. To do this, I tied the flannel around my waist, wore bangles on my wrist, and paired my black fringe booties with knit knee-high stockings.

IMG_1800

I absolutely love these stockings because of the small details. Over-the-knee stockings are everything right now, but so many of them just look like plain socks to me. I love these gray ones because of the knit detailing seen with the vertical stripes. These stripes add a little flare to the stockings, and also make the legs look longer. I also love the ruffle detailing at the very top of the stockings. Although you might think a black pair would be easier to style, I really enjoy the contrast of pairing gray stockings with black booties. I’ve worn these stockings with riding boots and combat boots as well, and they always look adorable. These knit stockings are from Free People.

IMG_1792

One thing that you will quickly learn about me is that I love shoes; these booties are no exception. I fell in love with them the moment I saw them at Nordstrom last fall. The fringe is absolutely addable, and the suede is so soft. I like how the top can be cuffed over like in the picture above, or they can be left uncuffed, which is what I tend to do if I wear them with cuffed jeans. The heel is the perfect height, and because it is a more chunky heel, the boots are super comfortable. The only drawback of these booties is that I don’t wear them nearly as much as I would like to because I don’t want to ruin the suede with salt, sand, or snow by wearing them in the winter months. These black suede booties are designed by Sam Edelman.

IMG_1822

As far as accessories went, I decided to keep it simple. I wore two gold bangles, one that was smooth and simple, and one with a geometric pattern. I also wore simple gold stud earrings, which aren’t pictured. You’ll notice that the smooth and simple one is my go-to bracelet because it goes with just about everything. I wore these bracelets to tie in with the gold hardware on my booties. I also cuffed the sleeves of the flannel once I untied it from my waist in order to showcase my wrist. Both of these bracelets are from J Crew.

To complete my look, I wore my hair naturally curly but pulled the front back into a party pony (for future reference, I am a BIG fan of the party pony, it’s definitely become a go-to for me). For makeup, I did a smokey eye in gray hues using the Urban Decay Naked 2 palette, and a red lip in Lady Bug by MAC.

Thanks for following along on my first fashion post. Concerts are the perfect time to change up your look based on the genre of music, and the Daughter concert was no exception.

XOXO, Chloe

Stylish and Starving at Twenty-Something

 

Leave a comment